Move directly to the page contents

The Snow Queen (autumn 2013)
See gallery
See video

Upcoming performances

No upcoming performances

The Snow Queen (autumn 2013)

Kenneth Greve

Kenneth Greve's ballet for the whole family is based on the tale by H.C. Andersen from 1845. The principal characters are Kerttu and Kai, who are good friends. Kerttu finds the missing piece of the Snow Queen's mirror, and the Snow Queen kidnaps Kai to get it back. Kerttu wanders far and yonder in search of Kai and finally ends up at the frozen castle of the Snow Queen.

The Snow Queen is an impressive tribute to love and childhood innocence. Its magical world was created by costume designer Erika Turunen and lighting designer Mikki Kunttu together with the choreographer. The accompanying music is a recording performed by the Finnish National Opera orchestra under the direction of the composer Tuomas Kantelinen.

Duration 2 h 25 min, 1 intermission
 
 
  • Choreography Kenneth Greve
  • Conductor of the recording Tuomas Kantelinen
  • Sets Erika Turunen, Mikki Kunttu
  • Costumes Erika Turunen
  • Lighting design Mikki Kunttu
  • Make-up design Pekka Helynen
  • Projisointikuvat Mikko Linnavuori, Jan Yrlund
  • Dramaturgy (after H.C. Andersen) Pirjo Toikka, Kenneth Greve
  • Dramaturgical advisor Raija-Sinikka Rantala
 

Show time: Thu 28 Nov 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 30 Nov 2013 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 30 Nov 2013 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Mon 2 Dec 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 4 Dec 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 7 Dec 2013 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 7 Dec 2013 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 10 Dec 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Thu 12 Dec 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 14 Dec 2013 14:00

Show time: Sat 14 Dec 2013 18:00

Show time: Tue 17 Dec 2013 19:00

Show time: Thu 19 Dec 2013 19:00

Show time: Sat 21 Dec 2013 14:00

Show time: Sat 21 Dec 2013 18:00

Show time: Fri 3 Jan 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 4 Jan 2014 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 4 Jan 2014 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Thu 9 Jan 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 11 Jan 2014 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 11 Jan 2014 18:00 (sold)

 

The Snow Queen (autumn 2013)

Lumikuningatar

The Snow Queen (autumn 2013)