Move directly to the page contents

The Snow Queen (autumn 2012)
See gallery
See video

Upcoming performances

No upcoming performances

The Snow Queen (autumn 2012)

Kenneth Greve

Kenneth Greve's new ballet for the whole family is based on the tale by H.C. Andersen from 1845. The principal characters are Kerttu and Kai, who are good friends. Kerttu finds the missing piece of the Snow Queen's mirror, and the Snow Queen kidnaps Kai to get it back. Kerttu wanders far and yonder in search of Kai and finally ends up at the frozen castle of the Snow Queen.

The Snow Queen is an impressive tribute to love and childhood innocence. Its magical world was created by costume designer Erika Turunen and lighting designer Mikki Kunttu together with the choreographer. The accompanying music is a recording performed by the Finnish National Opera orchestra under the direction of the composer Tuomas Kantelinen.

Premiere on the 23rd of November 2012.  

Performances of the Snow Queen season 2013-2014 on sale from Tue 18 Dec at 9 am at the box office of the Opera and at Lippupiste. 

Snow Queen, performances season 2013-2014:
- Thu
28.11.2013 7:00 pm
- Sat 30.11.2013 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm
- Mon 2.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Wed 4.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Sat 7.12.2013 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm
- Tue 10.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Thu 12.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Sat 14.12.2013 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm
- Tue 17.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Thu 19.12.2013 7:00 pm
- Sat 21.12.2013 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm
- Fri 3.1.2014 7:00 pm
- Sat 4.1.2014 2:00 pm and 6:00 pm

Duration 2 h 25 min, 1 intermission
 
 
  • Choreography Kenneth Greve
  • Music Tuomas Kantelinen
  • Conductor of the recording Tuomas Kantelinen
  • Sets Erika Turunen, Mikki Kunttu
  • Costumes Erika Turunen
  • Lighting design Mikki Kunttu
  • Make-up design Pekka Helynen
  • Dramaturgy (after H.C. Andersen) Pirjo Toikka, Kenneth Greve
  • Dramaturgical advisor Raija-Sinikka Rantala
 

Show time: Fri 23 Nov 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 28 Nov 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Fri 30 Nov 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 5 Dec 2012 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 5 Dec 2012 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 8 Dec 2012 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 8 Dec 2012 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 11 Dec 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Thu 13 Dec 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 15 Dec 2012 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 15 Dec 2012 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 19 Dec 2012 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 22 Dec 2012 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 22 Dec 2012 18:00 (sold)

Show time: Thu 3 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Fri 11 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 22 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 23 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 29 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Thu 31 Jan 2013 19:00 (sold)

 

The Snow Queen (autumn 2012)

Lumikuningatar

The Snow Queen (autumn 2012)