Move directly to the page contents

Sibelius as Storyteller

Upcoming performances

Main auditorium

  • Thu 07/05/2015 7:00 pm
  • Sat 09/05/2015 12:00 pm
  • Mon 11/05/2015 12:00 pm sold
  • Tue 12/05/2015 12:00 pm sold
  • Wed 13/05/2015 12:00 pm sold

Sibelius as Storyteller

The Minpins by Roald Dahl told as a musical story

 

Roald Dahl, beloved children's author, and Jean Sibelius, master of incidental music, meet in a concert for the whole family, narrated in Finnish. Ville encounters a dangerous creature in the forest and ends up visiting tiny people who live in the trees. The monster on the loose terrorises everyone, and Ville has a plan to drive it away.

The music of Jean Sibelius accompanies a fascinating tale of childhood, conquering fear and communing with nature. The mighty Tapiola, the imaginative Tempest music and extracts from symphonies and many other works are insightfully used to accompany the tale of the boy and the little people.

Tickets for the spring season performances available from 6 Oct 2014.
Tickets EUR 16-34, family ticket on the stalls EUR 80, 2 adults+2children (incl. service charge) the family ticket cannot be purchased
from Lippu.fi, Full details of seat prices for each performance and updated information about seats available at Lippu.fi online sales

Duration 2 h, 1 intermission
Performed in Finnish
 
 
  • Conductor Anu Tali
  • Director Juulia Tapola
  • Sets Anna Kontek
  • Costumes Anna Kontek
  • Lighting design Olli-Pekka Koivunen
 

Show time: Thu 7 May 2015 19:00

Show time: Sat 9 May 2015 12:00

Show time: Mon 11 May 2015 12:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 12 May 2015 12:00 (sold)

Show time: Wed 13 May 2015 12:00 (sold)