Move directly to the page contents

Peer Gynt
See gallery
See video

Upcoming performances

Main auditorium

  • Sat 26/04/2014 2:00 pm
  • Tue 29/04/2014 7:00 pm
  • Wed 07/05/2014 7:00 pm
  • Sat 10/05/2014 2:00 pm
  • Wed 14/05/2014 7:00 pm
  • Fri 16/05/2014 7:00 pm

Peer Gynt

Heinz Spoerli

Peer Gynt travels the world, only to return home after decades of real and imaginary adventures to his Solveig. Henrik Ibsen's classic play depicts the entire span of human life, along with its dreams and hopes, and longing for home.

Famous choreographer Heinz Spoerli decided to relate the journey of Peer Gynt in dance once his own life had progressed to the point where he felt it sufficed. Utilizing classical ballet and the spell-bounding music of Grieg along with contemporary dance and and music, Spoerli was able to channel the landscape of Peer Gynt's soul. "I wanted to dig deeper into the story and get under the surface," says Spoerli. The result is dramatic ballet at its most affecting.

Heinz Spoerli is one of the most acclaimed choreographers of our time. The Finnish National Ballet has presented several of his numerous works, including the ballets Le Fille mal Gardée, La belle vie, and most recently, A Midsummer's Night Dream. 

Duration 2 h 15 min, 1 intermission
Performed in Finnish, surtitles in Finnish, Swedish and English
 
 
  • Choreography Heinz Spoerli
  • Music Edvard Grieg, Brett Dean, Marc-Anthony Turnage
  • Conductor Robert Reimer
  • Sets Florian Etti
  • Costumes Florian Etti
  • Lighting design Martin Gebhardt
 

Show time: Fri 11 Apr 2014 19:00

Show time: Sat 12 Apr 2014 14:00

Show time: Thu 24 Apr 2014 19:00

Show time: Sat 26 Apr 2014 14:00

Show time: Tue 29 Apr 2014 19:00

Show time: Wed 7 May 2014 19:00

Show time: Sat 10 May 2014 14:00

Show time: Wed 14 May 2014 19:00

Show time: Fri 16 May 2014 19:00

 

Peer Gynt

Peer Gynt

Peer Gynt