Move directly to the page contents

Kullervo

Upcoming performances

Main auditorium

  • Fri 13/02/2015 7:00 pm
  • Sat 14/02/2015 7:00 pm
  • Wed 25/02/2015 7:00 pm
  • Fri 27/02/2015 7:00 pm
  • Tue 03/03/2015 7:00 pm
  • Thu 05/03/2015 7:00 pm
  • Sat 07/03/2015 2:00 pm
  • Sat 14/03/2015 7:00 pm

Kullervo

Tero Saarinen – Jean Sibelius

When composer Jean Sibelius as a young man encountered the tragic tale of Kullervo in the Kalevala, the result made Finnish musical history. Now Sibelius's breakthrough work is given a stage interpretation by Tero Saarinen.

In the timeless tale from the Finnish national epic, Kullervo unknowingly seduces his own sister, kills his enemies and finally falls on his own sword. Why does everything go wrong for this tormented man? Tero Saarinen, a choreographer and director known for his all-embracing approach, matches his powerful movement language with music performed by orchestra, choir and soloists. There is much male energy on stage as the men of the Helsinki Philharmonic Choir join the men of the Chorus of the FNO.

Sibelius 150

Tickets for the spring season performances available from 6 Oct 2014.
Tickets EUR 24-118,50, stalls from EUR 76,50 (incl. service charge)

Duration 1 h 50 min, 1 intermission
Performed in Finnish, surtitles in Finnish, Swedish and English
 
 
  • Choreography Tero Saarinen
  • Music Jean Sibelius
  • Director Tero Saarinen
  • Conductor Jukka-Pekka Saraste / Pietari Inkinen
  • Sets Mikki Kunttu
  • Costumes Erika Turunen
  • Lighting design Mikki Kunttu
 

Show time: Fri 13 Feb 2015 19:00

Show time: Sat 14 Feb 2015 19:00

Show time: Wed 25 Feb 2015 19:00

Show time: Fri 27 Feb 2015 19:00

Show time: Tue 3 Mar 2015 19:00

Show time: Thu 5 Mar 2015 19:00

Show time: Sat 7 Mar 2015 14:00

Show time: Sat 14 Mar 2015 19:00