Move directly to the page contents

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

Upcoming performances

Main auditorium

  • Fri 13/03/2015 5:00 pm
  • Tue 17/03/2015 5:00 pm
  • Wed 25/03/2015 5:00 pm
  • Sat 04/04/2015 2:00 pm
  • Sat 11/04/2015 2:00 pm
  • Sat 18/04/2015 2:00 pm

Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg

Richard Wagner

Young Walther finds himself compelled to win a singing competition, because the prize is the hand of Eva in marriage. Entrants need to be well versed in the ancient rules of the mastersingers to even be allowed to enter the competition, but Walther is inspired to sing of love in a new style. Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg is a grandiose opera by Wagner setting a good-humoured story about the encounter of old and new worlds.

In this opera, Wagner depicts young love and laughter instead of the epic canvases for which he is better known. For all its light-heartedness, the story is also a serious exploration of the tensions between freedom and strict rules in art. Harry Kupfer, who previously directed the impressive Parsifal, sets the Medieval tale in war-torn Germany in the modern era.

Tickets for the spring season performances available from 6 Oct 2014.
Tickets EUR 26-125,50, stalls from EUR 83,50 (incl. service charge)

Duration 5 h 30 min, 2 intermissions
Performed in German, surtitles in Finnish, Swedish and English.
 
 
  • Conductor Michael Güttler
  • Director Harry Kupfer
  • Sets Hans Schavernoch
  • Costumes Yan Tax
  • Lighting design Jürgen Hoffmann
 

Show time: Fri 13 Mar 2015 17:00

Show time: Tue 17 Mar 2015 17:00

Show time: Wed 25 Mar 2015 17:00

Show time: Sat 4 Apr 2015 14:00

Show time: Sat 11 Apr 2015 14:00

Show time: Sat 18 Apr 2015 14:00