Move directly to the page contents

Beauty and the Beast
See gallery
See video

Upcoming performances

No upcoming performances

Beauty and the Beast

Javier Torres

A witch's spell turns a handsome young king into a beast and only true love can save him. But who could ever love a hideous beast? This ballet version of the charming fairy tale is sure to fascinate the whole family.

Choreographer Javier Torres' rendition of Sleeping Beauty was praised far and wide. Now Torres uses the gift of dance to tell another familiar tale, that of a king transformed into a monster, a maiden trapped in a castle, and the love that gradually awakens between them. The evening promises classical ballet at its finest, an old romantic castle atmosphere, resplendent costumes from Erika Turunen, and moving fantastical music from Ottorino Respighi. 

Duration 2 h 25 min, 1 intermission
 
 
  • Choreography Javier Torres
  • Conductor Pietro Rizzo / Harri Karri
  • Music Ottorino Respighi, Gioachino Rossini, J.S. Bach, Sergei Rahmaninov
  • Sets Annukka Pykäläinen, Javier Torres
  • Costumes Erika Turunen
  • Lighting design Olli-Pekka Koivunen
  • Projection Timo Nyman
  • Make-up design Virpi Ketko
 

Show time: Fri 21 Feb 2014 19:00

Show time: Sat 22 Feb 2014 14:00

Show time: Wed 26 Feb 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Fri 28 Feb 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 1 Mar 2014 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Fri 7 Mar 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Sat 8 Mar 2014 14:00 (sold)

Show time: Fri 14 Mar 2014 19:00 (sold)

Show time: Tue 18 Mar 2014 19:00

Show time: Thu 20 Mar 2014 19:00 (sold)

  • Conductor Harri Karri

Show time: Wed 26 Mar 2014 19:00 (sold)

  • Conductor Harri Karri

Show time: Fri 28 Mar 2014 19:00 (sold)

  • Conductor Harri Karri

Show time: Tue 1 Apr 2014 19:00

  • Conductor Harri Karri

Show time: Sat 5 Apr 2014 19:00 (sold)

  • Conductor Harri Karri
 

Beauty and the Beast

Kaunotar ja hirviö

Beauty and the Beast